Shane Cooley Music






Follow Shane on:     Facebook   Twitter   You Tube

"The Green Porch Sessions" By Shane Cooley & Paulo Franco
Release date: December 20, 2013

Available at BandCamp

The Green Porch Sessions is a collection of co-writes that Shane and Paulo wrote sitting on Paulo's green-painted porch in Richmond, as well as a couple of their solo tunes. Veering a little more in the country rock direction, these six songs all tell tales, from the love story of Paulo's parents in "Married in a Black Dress," to a man haunted by the lover he wrongfully murdered in "She Comes Calling," to a Tennessee troubadour who moved to Texas out of love for his idol, Townes Van Zandt, in "It Just Ain't Texas Without You." It also includes Shane's tune "Elizabeth City," which has become a crowd favorite. The EP was engineered, mixed and mastered in Richmond by Bob Rupe (Cracker, The Silos, Sparklehorse).

You can get a taste of it if you listen to the recorded podcast from 102.1 the X Studio B. The podcast features Paulo and I doing acoustic versions of three of the tunes from the EP, as well as two cuts from the disc itself! Special thanks to Jay Smack for hosting, Dan-O Deckleman for recording the session at Snake Oil Recording, and Chandler Moulton for posting photos from the session at Area Code Greetings

Tracks 2, 3, 5 and 6 by Shane Cooley/ASCAP and Paulo Franco/BMI 2013
Track 1 by Shane Cooley/ASCAP 2012
Track 4 by Paulo Franco/BMI 2013

Paulo Franco: vocals (tracks 2 & 4), guitar (all tracks)
Shane Cooley: vocals (tracks 1, 3, 5 and 6), guitar (all tracks), drums (1, 2 and 4)
Dan Sessler: guitar
Bob Rupe: bass
Harold Yager: drums (track 3)
Johnny Hott: drums (track 5)

Recorded at Plaster and Pine Studios, Richmond, VA
Engineered and mastered by Bob Rupe
Produced by Shane Cooley, Paulo Franco and Dan Sessler
Cover photo by MANIC! Photography, Dani Palmer
Back photo by Paulo Franco
Graphic Design by Gray Gurkin

The Green Porch Sessions: copyright Paulo Franco (BMI) and Shane Cooley (ASCAP)

"When It Rains, It Pours" By Shane Cooley
Release date: November 17, 2012

Available at BandCamp
Streaming in full at SoundCloud

"When It Rains, It Pours" is Shane Cooley's most visceral and haunting release.
Produced by Adam Smith in his Phoenix, Arizona studio, the album is intentionally stark, leaving room for raw emotion."


Shane Cooley:
vocals, guitar, piano, drums, synth, strum stick, shaker, tambourine, bells

Adam Smith:
harp (Tracks 2,3,4,& 7), toms, tambourine (Track 3), synth (Track 9)

All songs written and performed by Shane Cooley (ASCAP).
Recorded by Adam Smith at the LOFT in Phoenix, Arizona
Produced by Adam Smith and Shane Cooley
Engineered and mixed by Adam Smith
Mastered by Jamison Weddle at Studiocat Mastering in Phoenix, Arizona
Graphic design by Element Design

"Westland" By Shane Cooley
Release date: 2011

Available at BandCamp

"West Land showcases Shane Cooley's dedication to the art of the song as much as it reflects his life on the road in America. Shane Cooley, who recently won 2nd place as "Best Male Artist" in the International Acoustic Music Awards, says that his new album, West Land, represents his departure from a past life. Most of the songs are about exploring new cities out West, and living on the American road. Partnered with producer Stewart Myers (Jason Mraz, Lifehouse), Cooley played most of the instruments on the album himself, including drums, guitars, piano and harmonica.

"West Land is for all intents and purposes a 70s record," said Cooley. "I have always felt like I was born in the wrong time, and have been envious of the artists that were around in that era. Music was treated with a degree of respect then, from both the artists' perspective and the audience's." ~Danny McCloskey, The Alternate Root Magazine

Purchase WEST LANDWest Land song list

Tracks 1-6:
Produced by Stewart Myers / Shane Cooley
Shane Cooley: vocals, guitars, drums,piano, harmonica, melotron
Stewart Myers: bass, chamberlain,organ, timpani, synth
Charles Arthur: pedal steel on "The Alamo", lead guitar on "California Nights"
Jack Cooley: drums on "Window Shopping"
Engineered by Stewart Myers, White Star Sound, Charlottesville, VA
Mixed by Stewart Myers at Dixie Five

Track 7:
Produced by Lawrence Gelburd
Shane Cooley: lead vocals, acoustic guitar
The Melillo Brothers: bass, drums, electric guitar, background vocals
Adam Web and Myron Kimble: background vocals
Engineered by Joe DeLuca, Why Me Recording, NJ
Mixed by Stewart Myers at Dixie Five
-Mastered by Fred Kevorkian at Avatar Studios, NYC
-Graphic Design by Adam Web

During his 2011 West Coast Tour, Shane shot "The Alamo" on location in San Antonio, TX. Filmed by Jim Colletti, Nyke Van Wyk and the Home Sweet Home Tour 2011